It’s always a happy day with these people

So, today I went to school for a section meeting with my Balita family. I haven’t seen them as a whole since our awards night, Gawad Efren Abueg, so I was pretty eager for this day. For formality’s sake, the ‘Balita’ section I have mentioned refers to a group of campus news writers in De La Salle University’s official Filipino publication, Ang Pahayagang Plaridel (APP).

Since it was Bianca’s eighteenth birthday last May 11, we decided to prepare a little tribute video for her and to buy her a cake (three slices, actually) from Starbucks. Gladly, the surprise went without a glitch – thanks to Emman,  who, surprisingly, spearheaded this thoughtful gesture.

Afterwards, we ate out at Burger King to discuss work-related matters with our temporary editor, Larisa. Larisa is actually APP’s current Managing Editor, yet since the next editor for the Balita section still hasn’t been chosen, she will be our head for now. It’ll be quite lengthy if I’d go about explaining why we still don’t have an editor yet. Cutting the long story short, the editorial board race reopened and Bianca, Maedelle, and I are the contenders.

First Photo: (from left) Kate, Hazel (me), Maedelle, Mariel, Pauline, Emman, Bianca, Larisa, and Kuya Henri

911523_10201045371119492_1785214207_n 911788_10201045374199569_1571871260_n 20130514_110313

After lunch, we went back to the office and relived our days at RanRich Beach Resort, Cavite where we recently had our Year-end Team Building. We actually have this yearly tradition called ‘Kandila’ wherein all the members of the organization would be forming a circle and everyone would be given the chance to share their experiences, give thanks, and even to apologize. And since only Bianca, Maedelle, Kate, Emman and I were able to attend the team-building, we’ve decided to reiterate our speeches and let the absentees deliver theirs.

And then I heard the words I thought I would never hear.

Guess what.

Best.

Feeling.

EVER.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA but seriously, though, it was incomparable. And it was all that I have been waiting for

Once again, I was reminded of how thankful and honored I am to be part of this section, and how much I’ve grown to love them. For better or for worse (hopefully not the latter). Yii cheesy. Hahaha.

The rest of the day consisted more of our uncontrollable laughing, teasing, and giggling at Starbucks. Next up would be our most-awaited drinking session next Friday.

I am beyond STOKED. 🙂

4-up on 2013-05-14 at 15.00 #5 4-up on 2013-05-14 at 15.00 #4

4-up on 2013-05-14 at 15.00 #8 4-up on 2013-05-14 at 15.00 #2

First Photo (top left): (From upper row, left) Emman, Kate, Madelle, Bianca, Pauline, Kuya Henri, Mariel, Hazel (me)

Photos from Kate Panis

