Toying with emotions

Because the combination of reading these Thought Catalog quotations and listening to ‘Turn It Well’ by Up Dharma Down on repeat is m a d l y toying with my emotions.

  • They come into the conversation with a host of notions about what your sex (something shared with over half of the world’s population, mind you) is supposed to say about you. You are supposed to be soft, to be compliant, to be demure, to be understanding, to be shy. […] A call-out for behavior that might hurt someone else is always wrapped in gendered language, because the accusation can never be about you as a person. It has to be about you as a woman.
  • I wish I were a man, just for a day. I would like to see what it feels like, because I’m genuinely curious. I don’t imagine that my life would be perfect, just as I don’t feel that my successes in life will be forever inhibited by my own gender. But it would be nice to feel that what I do or do not accomplish, the paths I choose and the things I say, were judged on who I am as an individual.
  • Because although I live a life which is by all counts filled with privilege and luck and happiness, I doubt I will reach a day where I do not hear at least one comment that is in some way based on my gender.

Quoted from: http://thoughtcatalog.com/2013/i-wish-i-were-a-man/

  • But I know that it won’t happen. I know that you won’t […], that this isn’t meant to be. And it’s probably for the best, because when we are only together in my dreams, there is no way you can disappoint me.

Quoted from: http://thoughtcatalog.com/2013/if-you-kissed-me/

  • There is probably no worse feeling in the whole world. And all you can do is ride it out. I would say to take comfort in the knowledge that we’ve all been there, but when it’s happening to you, you could not care less what everyone else has been through.

Quoted from: http://thoughtcatalog.com/2013/the-5-people-you-will-fall-in-love-with/

  • It is pleasant to build a fantasy, to tend to it as one might a beloved garden, it is exhausting when continually compared to the barren silence of reality. Life makes a mockery of everything that happens in my mind, reminds me how little I am actually in command. In my world, you tell me everything I want to hear, mirror every sentiment I am constantly on the verge of shouting at the top of my lungs when we carry on an otherwise stilted conversation — but we are not in my world.
  • Living in doubt can be addictive, it can give a sense of burning hopefulness that, as long as it is not extinguished completely, can sustain someone for years on end.
  • You’ll only be living a half-life of possibility and delayed gratification, but you’ll be alive. For someone in the throes of a heady relationship with doubt, almost anything is worth keeping the possibility alive. To know would bring closure and, though it could be positive, it risks bringing an end to the fantasies you’ve been entertaining for so long. Why take the risk, the plunge, when you could remain perfectly neutral in limbo for eternity?

Quoted from: http://thoughtcatalog.com/2012/just-tell-me-how-you-feel/

  • We need to move away from this constant need of coming across as calm, cool and collected. WE WEREN’T BUILT TO BE CALM, COOL, AND COLLECTED. If we were, it wouldn’t feel so fucking exhausting all the time. It would, you know, come naturally to us. You know what comes naturally to human beings though? Being open, being messy, being raw, being unfiltered, having lots of feelings. Why should we have to stifle our true nature? Let’s go after the things we want, let’s love each other brutally and honestly, and not worry about the consequences. Let’s release the feelings inside of us and let them land somewhere special. Otherwise, we might have a lifetime of longing in front of us.

Quoted from: http://thoughtcatalog.com/2012/you-need-to-go-after-the-things-you-want/

